top of page

Balancing My Work Life

One of the hardest things to do this semester is balancing my work from Networking for one of my classes and my AI work for Senior Production. I have to balance my times between the projects of networking like creating a networked boid system while also creating Cash Force's flocking system for the enemies. To not deprecate my work efficiency I also add in some time to relax in short bursts.

My main method for balancing the two classes is scheduling certain times for each work to be done. This usually revolves around the due dates that each project/ assignment is due.

For Senior Production we don't have due dates, but sprints. Each week we set ourselves a list of tasks that we believe we could do for that week's time span. To make scheduling better I plan a due date for each task so I am more likely to get the task done well before the start of the next sprint.

For networking I plan my work on the weekends since it leaves my days more open to longer work periods as well as the condition that the project is due on the following monday. With the pressure that I have to get the project done and a time scheduled to do it, I am able to get the project done before the class. On another note, I only do this for the smaller projects. If the project is larger, like the boid system, I schedule out at least 3 hours per a day to work on the assignment. I believe 3 hours are great solely because 1 hour I could just be looking at code and going through what I have done. The other hours include adding onto the work, reviewing the conditions for the project to be complete, and figuring out how the architecture should be structured.

Well that's how I usually plan out my weeks. I have other classes such as statistics and console programming, but all the work is done in class time so they don't need to be scheduled into me calendar as much as the other two classes. If you have any questions feel free to leave a message in the contact me page.


bottom of page