top of page

Debugging and Finalizing the AI

The finalization of the AI is here! All it took was a complete over hull of the three tasks in the behavior tree. After further inspections and talking to my desk duck I found that my math for the throttle and steering was wrong. The main problem was I wasn't including time into the behavior. So after a long time of rework and fiddling with numbers, the AI has began to work... or so it seemed.

We found yet again another bug. I went through lines and line of code and I was getting frustrated. The entire process was correct what could it be? I then just let the game play out until I saw two cars going around a corner. I then paused unreal and did a frame by frame continue to find the problem. We believed the steering was too strong. I wasn't convinced. I wanted to see how it looked without the 2nd part of the steering (avoiding other mafia cars). I took the inclusion of the separation steering, and low and behold, it was still "separating" away from one another. It was then I realized that the collisions for the car were broken. We (Karl Lewis and I) then went into the physics part of the car and fixed the collisions. This bug took hours to fix but everything worked right after.


bottom of page