top of page

My First Freelancing Job

I have received my first freelancing job! I have been commissioned by a previous user of the TemTem Bot. They wanted me to create a website for their Apex Legends Tournament system.


I will admit I didn't really know how to use HTML, CSS, and JavaScript, but I was willing to take on the challenge.


At first I didn't really get how HTML looked so beautiful for webpages. After a little bit of time I learned that HTML was supposed to be used for basic additions and the CSS cleaned it all up and stylized it. I then used JavaScript for carrying information and the dynamically create some parts of the pages. The ultimate goal for this site was so that the client could go into one singular file and change some values. That way they wouldn't be confused by anything code related and they could focus on more important things for their tournament. At first I was going to incorporate a system that took the user's google sheets info and read through the information, but that task turned out to be a little outside of my area of expertise. I instead used a JavaScript file that they could input new players, teams, and rivalries. I asked the user if that system worked for them and they were very happy with the result.


In the end I created a hub to go to other pages, a hall of fame or players, a leaderboards for the tournament, a link to the user's shop, a list of team rivalries in the tournaments, and a list of team compositions for the players to use for the tournament. It was a great way to get into HTML, CSS, and JavaScript. At the moment, I have already received another commission from a salon after they have seen my work.


One thing I have learned while using HTML/CSS/JavaScript is that I could picture the entire site as blocks. I could create one piece after another and split them up like squares. Then I would use JavaScript for dynamically creating items and other abstract things that HTML/ CSS cannot do.

bottom of page