top of page

Salon's First Site

A coworker at target overheard my background with programming and has sought my help for a client. A local salon at Clarksburg needs a site for their customers to find them through the web.


At first the clients wanted a site for microblading and one for hair styling, but we urged them that the best way to go would be a single site for the customers to look at. That way they wouldn't have the confusion on finding them. It took some time but the clients finally agreed to a singular site for both the hair styling and the microblading.


The site would contain a home, a space to show prices for the styles, a page specifically for microblading, a page that's about the salon and its history, a page for the customer to see who works there, and lastly a page for a customer to book an appointment with the stylists by using their Square Link appointments.


For the home, they wanted to show a google maps location of where the shop is. They also wanted to include a slide show that shows the salon's inside and outside. A problem that I have found with the google map is that the clients will have to set up a billing program with google. It turns out that google makes you pay to use maps on your site based on how many people are requesting to find your place. The service is very cheap so it doesn't pose a problem in the end.


Just like my previous project, I wanted the client to look as little code as possible. I used a JavaScript file where the client would just input the information for one of their members and the code would do everything else. One thing I have to make sure the client does is they have to name their image files for the team members like FirstLast.png, where First is the first name and Last is the last name. I did put a fail safe so if the person's image was not found it would make a missing avatar image. I will also be using this file for other pages as well!


This web page is still in production but it's introduced me to some cool things I haven't done before like including a google map onto a webpage and creating my own slide show.



bottom of page